If you are facing drug possession charges in Texas, you need to know the penalties you may be facing. Below, we will cover what the law says, the associated penalties, and possible defenses for your charges.
Texas Drug Possession Laws
The Texas Controlled Substances Act assigns penalties according to the type and amount of drug involved. Drugs are classified into four groups, based on their ability to cause addiction and their medical value. Penalties are given according to the penalty group.
Penalties for Group 1:
- Less than one gram: minimum 180 days in jail or maximum two years in prison, maximum fine of $10,000, or both
- Between one gram and four grams: between two and ten years in prison,