Best DUI Lawyers in Fort Worth
Best Criminal Defense Lawyers in Fort Worth
Fort Worth Magazine
Top 100 Attorneys
Avvo Top Attorney
Dallas Criminal Defense
The state of Texas is tough on crime, and nowhere is that truer than in Tarrant County. If you are charged in or around Fort Worth, you can be sure that law enforcement officials and prosecutors will do everything in their power to secure a conviction and punish you to the full extent of the law. Depending on the specific crime or crimes you are charged with, this could mean facing years in prison, county jail time, high fines, the loss of professional licenses, and restrictions on your rights, such as not being able to vote or own or possess a gun.
The consequences do not stop there either. A criminal conviction may mean the loss of your job. It can tear your family apart. It can destroy your reputation and your ability to live a normal life – even after you have paid your debt to society.
Many people think it is not worth fighting less serious charges, but this is a mistake. Even misdemeanors can have serious negative consequences that make your life harder. Moreover, if you ever find yourself on the wrong side of the law again, having a previous conviction on your record – “minor” or not – will likely mean facing additional penalties.
You need criminal attorneys on your side who understand how things work in Tarrant County and know how to mount an aggressive defense. Someone who has the experience and skill needed to give you the best chance at a positive outcome, and who will give you the attention you need and deserve. Because you are not just a case – you are a person.
One of the most common crimes our office handles is the crime of domestic violence. Under Texas domestic violence laws, the crime of domestic violence can involve the following charges:
- Assault Bodily Injury – Family Member: according to Texas law, if the State of Texas can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intentionally or knowingly contacted a family member and that physical contact caused “bodily injury,” or pain, you could be facing a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in the county jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
- Assault Bodily Injury – Family Member with prior – if the prosecutor can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intentionally or knowingly contacted a family member, the physical contact caused physical pain AND you have a prior conviction or deferred adjudication for a previous domestic violence crime, you could be facing a 3rd Degree Felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- Assault Impeding Breath of a Family Member – the State of Texas will be required to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intentionally or knowingly contacted a family member in a manner that impeded their breath. Some people refer to this crime as Assault by Choking. If the prosecutor is able to meet their burden of proof, you could be facing a third-degree felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
If you are facing a drug charge in Fort Worth, Texas, it is critical that you hire an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney to protect your freedom and your future. The Fulgham Law Firm services all types of Texas drug cases but let us examine a few that are common:
- Possession of Marijuana – under current Texas drug laws, possession of marijuana remains illegal. The State of Texas must prove that you intentionally or knowingly exercised care, custody, or control over the drug in order to convict you. The primary factor regarding whether the charge will be filed as a misdemeanor or felony drug charge is the weight of the marijuana. If the weight of the marijuana at the lab is less than four ounces, the charge will be filed as a misdemeanor possession of marijuana, punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail and up to a $4,000 fine. If you are a first-time offender and have hired an experienced and aggressive drug possession attorney, there is a good chance your lawyer can negotiate a resolution to have your misdemeanor marijuana charge dismissed. If you are facing a felony marijuana possession charge, you need a criminal attorney willing to tear apart the evidence and attempt to locate reasonable doubt to provide you the maximum leverage in your negotiations with the prosecutor.
- Possession of a Dangerous Drug – a dangerous drug under Texas drug laws is a substance ordinarily prescribed by a medical professional that is not listed as a controlled substance under Texas law and provides a warning label. More specifically, dangerous drugs are usually the more common drugs that people take for conditions: sleep aids, antibiotics or anti-depressants or anti-anxiety medications. The State of Texas must prove that you intentionally or knowingly exercised care, custody, or control over a dangerous drug for which you did not have a prescription. If the amount of the drug is under twenty-eight grams, the charge will be a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail and up to a $4,000 fine. If the weight of the drug is over twenty-eight grams, you could be looking at a felony drug charge, punishable by prison time and fines.
Have you been arrested for a DWI in Fort Worth or in a surrounding city in Tarrant County, Texas? Being arrested for a DWI is a serious issue. You have to manage both your driver’s license suspension and the potential ramifications if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated.
It is critical that you find the best DWI attorney in Fort Worth to help you navigate your DWI case. At The Fulgham Law Firm, our team of Former Prosecutors have over 85 years of criminal law experience and have taken over 500 DWI cases to a jury trial with impressive results for our clients. Our team of DWI attorneys can answer your questions and protect your rights to ensure you are treated fairly in court.
Upon being arrested for a DWI in Fort Worth or Tarrant County, Texas, your first thought should be whether your driver’s license will be suspended. As part of your arrest paperwork, you should have received a Temporary Driving Permit. This document takes the place of your Texas driver’s license that was confiscated at the time of your arrest.
At the bottom of this document, you will notice wording that says you have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request and administrative license revocation hearing. Failure to make the request for this hearing within 15 days will result in a suspension of your driver’s license 40 days after your arrest. If you hire an experienced DWI lawyer to make your license hearing request, this will provide you the opportunity to gain access to the evidence the Texas Department of Public Safety is relying upon to suspend your driver’s license. Your DWI attorney can analyze this evidence and look for the following: did the police have a legal basis to pull over your vehicle and arrest you? If not, you will prevail at your hearing and maintain your license. Also, your DWI lawyer can look to see if your blood alcohol level was over the legal limit. If your blood alcohol level was less than .08, you will prevail at your license hearing.
According to Texas Crime Statistics, the crime of theft or shoplifting is committed every 41 seconds. Next to drug possession, theft and shoplifting is the most common crime in North Texas. Although theft and shoplifting crimes are common, that does not mean they are not serious. Facing a conviction for theft or shoplifting in Texas can result in jail time or prison time and fines up to $10,000. Additionally, being labeled a thief with a theft conviction can make it exceedingly difficult to find meaningful employment because many employers will believe they cannot trust you.
Under Texas Penal Code, Section 31.03(a), a person commits the crime of theft if he unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of the property. “Unlawfully appropriate” means to take the property or services without the effective consent of the owner.
Determining whether a theft charge will be filed as a misdemeanor or felony is based solely upon the value of the property alleged to be stolen. Generally speaking, the more expensive the item stolen, the more serious the range of punishment will be in court. Let us look at the values under Texas theft law.
These people really helped me when literally no one else would. Brandon was very responsive and ready to help.Jessica G.
They are so professional and nice there and the lawyer is so nice and will listen to you the process was so smoothTyler K.
They worked for usStephen D.
Listened to me. Honest with me. Cared about what I had to say. Called back after 5pm and almost immediately.Joshua S.
Very responsive - dont waste any time getting things taken care of.. im very appreciative of the work these guys didDominic G.