If you’ve been arrested or/and charged with aggravated assault in Texas, it is extremely important that you take very specific actions to protect yourself. Here are three things that you need to do after being arrested for aggravated assault in Texas:
1. Know Your Right to Remain Silent
Perhaps the most important thing that you need to know both at the time of your arrest and during any criminal proceedings is your fifth amendment right to not answer for a crime (unless indicted by a grand jury to do so). As such, when you’re arrested, the most information that you should provide police officers is your name; wait until speaking with an attorney to say anything else, and never make any admission of guilt or association with other criminals. (You may inform the officers that you’re exercising your right to remain silent).
2. Avoid Any and All Questionable Activities
After your arrest, you’ll attend a hearing where your crimes will be read and you’ll officially be charged or released. Charges must be posted against you within 72 hours of your arrest, or you’re free to go. If you’re charged, it’s likely that you’ll be given the opportunity to post bail.
Regardless of whether you are released from jail because no charges were filed against you or on bail, it is extremely important that you refrain from committing any illegal or suspicious activities. If you do, this can significantly impair your case, especially if you’ve already been charged with aggravated assault.
3. Call an Attorney
If you’ve been charged with aggravated assault, don’t wait to call an attorney. In addition to your right to remain silent, you also have the right to legal representation; make sure you exercise this right as quickly as possible. While being in the custody of law enforcement can be intimidating, it is your constitutional right to request an attorney.
An attorney is important early on for a variety of reasons: an attorney can help to ensure that charges are either filed against you or dropped within the 72 hour period, negotiate a fair bail amount, help you determine whether or not to plead guilty or not guilty, negotiate a plea deal, and collect and present evidence on your behalf.
The penalties for aggravated assault in Texas are serious – don’t risk your future and your life by failing to take legal action. To learn more, call the attorneys at the Fulgham Law Firm, P.C. today. You can reach us at (817) 764-1392 today.